Sponsored Adverts

Author Topic: [ET:QW] MD5 Exporter for Blender  (Read 7060 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pazur

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 69
[ET:QW] MD5 Exporter for Blender
« on: August 19, 2010, 10:48:34 AM »
I'm planning to add some animated models in my ETQW map.

Now I found a Twiki on SD that describes exporting animated models: http://wiki.splashdamage.com/index.php/MD5_Export_Process

... but that's for Maya. I think there is a Blender exporter. Here my questions:

1. Will the animated model clip automatically just like with the static models?
2. Where do I insert the exported model? In what entity in ETQW? Any clue?
3. How can I script the events?
4. Is there something I need to keep in mind when exporting the animation?

What I want to do is a jump-pad that get's dropped for the Strogg.

Similar to this here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=leXWLr8xMAs&feature=related but for Strogg. Maybe a animation a bit like this (part where it lands supported by the rockets): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iaPt6Y9nZVA

Offline kat

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2348
Re: MD5 Exporter for Blender
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2010, 04:13:44 PM »
As far as I'm aware the MD5 scripts available on the tools page do work with QW but iirc you have to do some fiddling around with them to get usable MD5 models.

1) No, all models need a collision hull and/or clipBrush placement. If you put an unclipped model into the game, players and other objects will be able to pass through it. I cant remember but I think *.cm files were clip models but I can't for the life of me remember how those were made!

2) Your best bet is to look at what its going to replace, there's usually a series of files associated with MD5 models where all the information about what the model is and how its used is placed, so things like animations, collision data and so on (that was *.def files in Quake 4 iirc).

3) You can do simple 'scripts' in the def files in the sense that "X" animation plays on "death" and so on. But complex scripting needs to be done in a *.script file that sits in the "scripts" folder

4) When you export the animations it's best to do them individually so if you have all your anims in a single track but in different positions you may need to separate them out into their own individual actions before exporting. There is an MD5 version floating around somewhere that exports multiple tracks at the same time but I don't have that on the tools page.

Offline pazur

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 69
Re: MD5 Exporter for Blender
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2010, 07:07:30 AM »
Excellent. Thanks. That's a good start. I will play around.

Offline keless

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 29
Re: MD5 Exporter for Blender
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2010, 02:57:06 AM »
Slightly different topic but falls under the same title--

Is there an up-to-date MD5 exporter that works with Blender 2.53 ? From what I understand, Blender re-worked their animation editing system from 2.4x so the old exporter wont work, and I haven't found any updates by der_ton

Offline kat

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2348
Re: MD5 Exporter for Blender
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2010, 03:06:08 AM »
Sadly not yet... I've been onto der_ton to see if he's had a chance to address this yet but so far he's not been able to do anything due to real life getting in the way. I think a number of these 'old' scripts are going to need the community to come up with the goods as the original authors of them have either lost interest and gone MIA or have other more pressing responsibilities - wife/baby/cat/goldfish [delete as appropriate].

Tags:
 

Sponsored Adverts
RSS Copyright © 2019 KatsBits™. All Rights Reserved. No part of this or associated properties shall be reproduced without prior consent. AdvertisePrivacy PolicyDMCA (about DMCA) • Copyright PolicyCopyright Contact Home Blog Support About Contact Site Search Site Map RSS feed Forum YouTube FaceBook LinkedIn Twitter Instagram IMVU