KatsBits Community

[md3] Import error

Offline bookentire

administrator kat,
please help. i am new to blender and am having difficulty importing my first mesh.
Code: [Select]
Compiled with Python 2.6.2.
Checking for installed Python... got it!
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "(string)", line 1, in (module)
File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Blender\.blender\scripts\io\md3_import.py", line 45, in (module)
import md3
ImportError: No module named md3

Offline kat

• Administrator
    • KatsBits
Will need a bit more information on this.. What version of Blender and the MD3 scripts are you using? There are a couple out in the wilds. Also what's the model you're trying to import? You basically need to post more background details/explanation in terms of what you're trying to do to be able to properly answer you on this one.

Split this into it's own topic by the way, because it's about MD3 rather than ASE where you originally posted  ;)

Offline bookentire

TY for your reply,
i am using Blender 2.49b.
the scripts were acquired from: http://www.katsbits.com/files/md3/blender-md3.zip.
where is the version number on these scripts?
the ImportError happens immediately after selecting the Import\Quake3 (md3), Before selecting any model.

apologies for first posting this request in ASE.

Offline kat

• Administrator
    • KatsBits
That's probably going to be a compatibility problem, the MD3 script was written for older versions of Blender 2.42, 2.43 or 2.45, you'll need to try loading those (plus the appropriate version of Python). Oh and... open the script into a text editor and you'll see the details at the top of the file.

Offline bookentire

kat,
i am now using Blender 2.43 with Python 2.4.msi.
the three MD3 files were placed in folder Blender Foundation\Blender\.blender\scripts\io.
the md3.py says it is: MD3_VERSION 15
do the md3_export.py and md3_import.py have version numbers also?

when selecting the Import\Quake3 (md3), Python now tells me this: