Author Topic: [blender][idtech4]Weapon rigging  (Read 7431 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline razvanab

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
[blender][idtech4]Weapon rigging
« on: September 12, 2012, 01:33:37 AM »
Can you guys help me with a tutorial on how to rig a weapon for doom 3 in blender  ?

Thank You.

Offline kat

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2422
Re: [blender][idtech4]Weapon rigging
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2012, 02:02:30 AM »
Need a bit more detail because it depends on what the weapon is, what it's for and how it's used. Are you just talking about a mesh replacement or a a completely custom object with it's own animations etc.?

Offline razvanab

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
Re: [blender][idtech4]Weapon rigging
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2012, 02:08:31 AM »
Just how to setup the armature for a new weapon.

I have open the pistol_view in blender but there's too much going on and i don't have a clue what is what.

Offline kat

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2422
Re: [blender][idtech4]Weapon rigging
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2012, 02:39:01 AM »
You're still going to need to post more info and screenshots if possible of what you're looking at and what you're actually trying to do. You want to "set-up a new armature"... but for what? What are you setting up a new armature for? A new custom weapon, to replace the default one? What? As you can see, there are a lot of aspects involved in making content so you need to be more explicit in explaining what you're trying to do - general answers may not be that helpful otherwise.

Offline razvanab

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
Re: [blender][idtech4]Weapon rigging
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2012, 03:48:38 AM »
Yes i made a custom weapon model and i want to know how to rig it.




Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Offline kat

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2422
Re: [blender][idtech4]Weapon rigging
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2012, 10:41:56 AM »
The simplest thing to do is use the rig for the machine-gun and parent yours to that. You'll need to inspect the D3 weapon in Blender and look to see how the mesh is vertex weighted to the Armature, then basically replicate whatever you find on yours. It should then be a simple matter of exporting the MD5.

Note that depending on how much work you want to do, once you're exported the mesh you'll probably want to rename the assets (mesh and textures) to match the name of the weapon your replacing, that way all you're doing is a mesh over-ride. Otherwise it means you have to make a completely customised set of def files which determine what the weapon does and what assets the game should be pulling in for use (fire/reload anims, textures/skin files etc.).

Make sure you optimise that mesh before you try using it, it looks like you have the sub-divide modifier assigned which will bloat the structure with a huge amount of unnecessary polygons.. "less is more", always keep that in mind.

Offline razvanab

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
Re: [blender][idtech4]Weapon rigging
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2012, 12:12:16 PM »
I manage to understand how this is working after all
the problem was  that when you open an existent md5 weapon it's kind of hard to understand what's happening there

Thank You

 

RSS Copyright © 2020 KatsBits™. All Rights Reserved. No part of this or associated properties shall be reproduced without prior consent. AdvertisePrivacy PolicyDMCA (about DMCA) • Copyright PolicyCopyright Contact Home Blog Support About Contact Site Search Site Map RSS feed Forum YouTube FaceBook LinkedIn Twitter Instagram IMVU