Sponsored Adverts

Author Topic: [tutorial] update to viewport 'transparency'  (Read 3732 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kat

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2296
[tutorial] update to viewport 'transparency'
« on: September 18, 2011, 05:06:27 PM »
A couple of changes to Blender since the original Viewport Transparency tutorial was written necessitated an update and re-write. Now includes both main approaches to getting transparent textures to display in the 3D View of Blender 2.5 series. New screenshots, new text.


Note: an email has been sent out everyone who purchased the high-res PDF version from the store, if there are any problems get in touch on sales@katsbits.com

Offline Wasa

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: [tutorial] update to viewport 'transparency'
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2011, 12:19:01 AM »
Quote
Design Note: alpha channelled textures are sometime referred to as being "32bit" images. This is slightly incorrect because 'true' 32bit images are in fact "CMYK", the "Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, Black" colours associated with printing (colour brochures, books etc.). Be sure to double check the correct type of "32bit" image is being used before preceding.

This isn't correct either, a 32bit image with 32bit color depth would be 1 pixel in size.
Bit refers to color depth not image. For example a CMYK tiff would be 32bit color depth, not a 32bit image.

Offline kat

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2296
Re: [tutorial] update to viewport 'transparency'
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2011, 12:55:58 AM »
This isn't correct either, a 32bit image with 32bit color depth would be 1 pixel in size.
Bit refers to color depth not image. For example a CMYK tiff would be 32bit color depth, not a 32bit image.
You're being a bit too literal with your interpretation of that section ;) So whilst you are technically correct, in common usage and language that distinction is rarely, if ever, made (by Blender users) so the general point is to simply make sure people check they're using "RGB+A" images and not "CMYK" (both often referred to as being "32bit images"). I've seen that mistake happen quite a few times hence it being mentioned.

Tags:
 

Sponsored Adverts
RSS Content is copyright © KatsBits™ 2018 unless otherwise stated. All Rights Reserved.
No part of this web site may be reproduced (except for personal use, or otherwise stated) without prior written permission from KatsBits.com. For more infomation on copyright click here.
Web design cpdtAdvertisePrivacy PolicyDMCA (about DMCA) Home Store Workshops Blog Jobs Support About Katsbits Contact Site Search KatsBits Help Site Map RSS feed Forum YouTube FaceBook LinkedIn Twitter IMVU