KatsBits Community

Blender Basics tutorial + installation help

Offline ACDmvmkr

Help me please, I am new to Blender and am having the following difficulties..... whenever I start Blender, I get this little black text window that says
Code: [Select]
Compiled with Python version 2.6.2
'import site' failed; use -v for traceback
Checking for installed Python.... No installed Python found.
Only built-in modules are available. Some scripts might not run.
Continuing happily.

I downloaded and installed on my computer this Python thing because the install site said to. I then removed the Python installation from "Program Files" directory, and re-installed it into it's default directory chosen by the installer, using all the defaulted directory path names. I then went into "My Computer" Properties, and added the pythonpath to the environmental variables window <system variables>.

This is the path of my current installation---
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27;C:\Python27\DLLs;C:\Python27\Lib;C:\Python27\Lib\lib-tk
Whenever I start Blender, I keep getting that above error message. What is going wrong???? (and what does it mean?). I'm running Blender 2.49b

thanks, Dave

-------------------------------

I'm following the tutorial, but when it gets to << Part 4: texturing >>, I get to "Loading an Image into a Materials Texture slot" and when I try to select the image, as directed, I don't get the same results that the tutorial shows anymore. There is no image list to select from apparently, not even a "generic4.tga" file like the tutorial shows. I am now stuck dead in the water. How can I continue?

thx, Dave

These are two separate problems....

[EDIT] tidied the odd formatting of your post had, which sometimes happens

Offline kat

• Administrator
    • KatsBits
Welcome  ;D